vortivina.blogg.se

Beholder monster
Beholder monster






  1. BEHOLDER MONSTER HOW TO
  2. BEHOLDER MONSTER FULL
  3. BEHOLDER MONSTER SERIES

Once sessions were over, I would go research if I made the correct choice and I usually would encounter I made some mistake (didn’t prevent them from being unforgettable encounters, though). In my time running both creatures, I’ve had to make decisions on the spot when asked about them from my players. I’ve run two beholders so far in my time as a DM, one being an evil mastermind that controlled a whole city from the shadows, being foreshadowed since the start of the campaign, and then the Xanathar in Waterdeep Dragon Heist (who shares many similarities). When properly used, it becomes the infallible weapon to create spellcasters’ demise (and those carrying magic items). As this was not enough, its big central eye creates a big cone in front of it that nullifies all spells and/or magic. Oh, but that’s not all! If the beholder likes the player characters enough or considers them great foes, it may decide to use its rays to either charm or petrify their bodies to be used as trophies. These range from rays that cause paralysis, sleep, to others that instantly kill player characters that drop to 0hp, or fully disintegrates them.

BEHOLDER MONSTER HOW TO

How to forget them? It’s not only its intellect and paranoia you should be worrying about, but the lasers coming out from its eyes! They come in different forms and sizes, one per stalk coming out from its big, almost spherical body (and there’s 10 of them). All of this is accompanied by a huge brain, as beholders are brilliant creatures.Īnd then there are the eye beams. In case you still didn’t notice after reading this, these great one eye beings are also extremely paranoid, to the point of plotting several survival plans going from plan A to plan Z. All other beholders are just mere impostors, imperfect beings ready to steal all they have made in their lives. Understand that when I say “themselves” I don’t mean their entire species, but specifically and only them (the single creature).

beholder monster

They believe themselves to be the epitome of perfection.

  • Let’s Build a Mummy Lord’s Lair + Advice on how to run oneĪrt from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything The Beholderīeholders are extremely particular beasts, that differ from most of the other monsters from the game.
  • Let’s Build an Aboleth’s Lair + Advice on how to run one.
  • BEHOLDER MONSTER SERIES

    Therefore, I’ll do my own spin on it and talk about the things all excellent Beholder confrontations must have to be successful.īefore we begin, however, I wanted to let you know I’ve made other articles from this series before that you may like as well:

    BEHOLDER MONSTER FULL

    Inspired by HP Lovecraft’s stories, beholders are megalomaniac aberrations that come to lead and destroy, while gathering trophies and secrets…Īt first, I was planning on creating a full article on how to create a great lair for a beholder, but after giving Volo’s Guide to Monster‘s chapter about it a reread, I can honestly say WotC did a much better job than I would be able to do. They are great monsters full of personality and history in the game, coming from the very first edition of it.

    beholder monster

    Continuing my ongoing series on how to run some of the best D&D creatures comes the fan-favorite Beholder (or maybe DM’s favorite, as I think players don’t usually like them as much).








    Beholder monster